Embellished Bayou Founder-Christy Wilson speaks with Rock Bottom T-Shirts

Welcome to our blog series entitled the Boutique Clothing Craft Series.  This monthly sequence of blog posts is about highlighting the challenges and victories faced by an inspiring group of entrepreneurs who run boutique clothing craft companies.  Many of our customers also own boutique stores and face similar circumstances on a regular basis.Embellished Bayou

Boutique Clothing Craft Series: Embellished Bayou


Founder: Christy Wilson

Years in Business: The Embellished Bayou Etsy store has been open for about two years and has been embroidering for about one year.

Products Summary: Embellished Bayou sells personalized embroidered t-shirts, baby bodysuits, baby accessories, travel tumblers and more!

Website URL(s): http://www.embellishedbayou.etsy.com, http://www.embellishedbayou.com

http://www.facebook.com/embellishedbayou

Contact Information: Contact Embellished Bayou

Number-5-Embellished-BayouLong-Sleeve-T-Shirt-Designed-by-Embellished-Bayou

Embellished Bayou Founder-Christy Wilson speaks

with Rock Bottom T-Shirts

Magic-Hat-T-Shirt-Design-Embellished-Bayou

1. What inspired you to start an online clothing boutique?

My mother-in-law gave me her old embroidery machine about a year ago.  I began using it and kept practicing and my designs/work kept getting better.  I already had an Etsy store for my other crafts (personalized frames/tins), so I just added in my personalized embroidery creations to complement it.

2. How did you get started?

My Etsy store initially began from a desire to create personalized, unique gifts at a reasonable price.  I had been shopping for gifts and would see things in stores that I knew I could make myself for much less.

3. Are there any milestone moments that you’d like to share with us?

I fulfilled my first wholesale order for another boutique company a couple months ago and getting that first one was really was exciting!Embellished-Bayou-Designed-Rabbit-T-shirt

4. How long does it take, on average, for you to complete a typical project?

Simple monograms can be done in just a few minutes and appliques that use several fabrics and thread colors can take much more time.

5. Your designs are very creative; how do you find the inspiration to come up with these embellishments?

I buy most of my designs from digitizers like Applique Momma, Planet Applique, and Applique Frenzy.  Then it’s just a matter of combining the design with a cute font and name to complete the look my customer wants.  Sometimes I’ll add a little something extra like rhinestones or a bow. Many times the fabric will provide the inspiration, as I love to browse fabric stores for interesting patterns and colors that will make a cute applique.

As far as my non-embroidered items (frames, tins, etc.); I get most of my inspiration from what I see in stores.  Many times I will see something and try to recreate it for less and with an extra special touch-like beautiful ribbons or rhinestones.

6. Is there any advice that you’d like to share with someone who may be considering starting one?

It takes a lot of time and commitment if you want your business to grow and be seen.  Advertise as much as you can for free on blogs, Facebook, and Twitter to get your name out there.  Carry business cards with you because you never know when you will run into someone interested in your products.

Thank you for checking out the first installment of our Boutique Clothing Craft Series.  If you know of someone that you think we should feature in this series please let us know by mentioning it on our Facebook Fan Page.

8 Comments

Filed under Boutique Clothing Craft Series, craft, embroidery

8 responses to “Embellished Bayou Founder-Christy Wilson speaks with Rock Bottom T-Shirts

  1. Hat tip to Christy for providing six more photos of embellishments that she’s done using products from Rock Bottom T-Shirts. Thanks Christy! You can see the photos by clicking the link to this photo album on Facebook.

  2. Britt Manzano

    I simply want to say I am beginner to blogging and certainly savored you’re blog. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You absolutely come with terrific stories. Thanks a lot for sharing your blog.

  3. Thank you for the kind words Britt. I’m glad that you enjoyed this post!

  4. Pingback: Boutique Clothing Craft Series: Dresses, Tresses, and More | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

  5. Pingback: Three Common Threads Amongst Boutique Clothing Craft Business Owners | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

  6. Pingback: The Experts Weigh In: A Panel Discussion on How to Start Your Own Successful Etsy Crafts Business – Part I | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

  7. Pingback: How to Start Your Own Successful Etsy Crafts Business – Part II of the Panel Discussion | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

  8. Pingback: Mardi Gras Crafts Round-Up | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

Leave a Reply

