Boutique Clothing Craft Series: Create and Accentuate

Welcome to the Rock Bottom T-Shirts Boutique Clothing Craft Series.  We’re pleased to bring you the third installment of this blog post series that recognizes the accomplishments of small businesses in the clothing craft industry.

Last month we profiled Ms. Tashae Watson of Dresses, Tresses, & More and today we’re profiling Mrs. Tara Burns of Create and Accentuate.

Create and Accentuate Boutique Clothing Crafts


Founder Name: Tara Burns

Tara Burns - Create and Accentuate

Tara Burns, FounderCreate and Accentuate

Business Name: Create and Accentuate

Years in Business: I’ve been at this for over a year but officially and actively since last August.

How the Business Began: By making things for my son … I wanted cute bibs, burp cloths, and outfits … but didn’t want to pay what others were asking.

Product Summary: I make bibs and diaper pouches from scratch; I accentuate burp cloths (cloth diapers) as well as applique baby bodysuits/t-shirts.

Website URL: Etsy

Facebook: Create and Accentuate

Contact information: createandaccentuate-at-gmail-com

Create and Accentuate Founder-Tara Burns Speaks with Rock Bottom T-Shirts

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


  1. What inspired you to start your online clothing boutique?
  2. I started my boutique after my son was born.  I was making things for him and decided “I can sell this!”  => I was also inspired by other moms … I know how hard it is to find cute stuff for kids without spending lots of money.  So I wanted to share my creations with other moms and not charge them boutique prices.

  3. Is there any advice that you’d like to share with anyone considering starting their own boutique clothing crafts company?
  4. Don’t give up!  It’s easy to get discouraged.  There are a lot of people out there making the exact same stuff.  I just try to offer the best product for a reasonable price.  Also, keep at it!  It takes a while to get your name and product out there … but it will happen.  And next thing you know, you’ll be overwhelmed!  =>  … in a good way of course!

  5. Speaking of getting overwhelmed with orders how do your customers find you?
  6. Most of my customers come from finding my designs on Etsy.  I’m also very grateful for repeat business as well as referrals.  Facebook has also been a great tool.  I also do a few local “events” that help spread the word.

  7. What’s the toughest challenge that you’ve faced in your business so far?
  8. My toughest challenge has been getting used to the ebb and flow of the buyers.  I might go a week or two with no interest or buyers, and then I go a week or two with an order every day.

  9. Are there any milestone moments that you’d like to share with us?
  10. When I was asked to make items for friends of friends … it may sound corny, but it was a big deal to me.  That my friends thought my creations were good enough to share with their friends.  I’m also very proud of my feedback rating at Etsy.com … it tells me I’m making things people like and want.

  11. Is there anyone in the industry that you look up to or aspire to emulate?
  12. I don’t have anyone in particular … there are several people on Etsy that I “follow”.  I’ve learned a few lessons from them.  I also know several people who have the “knack” for all things creative.  In a lot of ways, these people challenge me to keep creating!  I just admire anyone who is willing to take a risk and follow a dream … no matter how big or small.

  13. Are there any lessons that running your business has taught you that you might not have learned if it weren’t for your business?
  14. Budgeting and financial matters as well as marketing and networking are all lessons I’m not sure would have ever come up.  I’ve also learned some much needed lessons about time management.

Thank you for checking out the third installment of our Boutique Clothing Craft Series.  If you know of someone that you think we should feature in this series please let us know by mentioning it on our Facebook Fan Page.

7 Comments

Filed under Boutique Clothing Craft Series, crafts, Crafts/Projects

7 responses to “Boutique Clothing Craft Series: Create and Accentuate

  1. Great interview! Much luck with your continued success, Tara!

  2. Pingback: Three Common Threads Amongst Boutique Clothing Craft Business Owners | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

  3. Pingback: The Experts Weigh In: A Panel Discussion on How to Start Your Own Successful Etsy Crafts Business – Part I | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

  4. Pingback: How to Start Your Own Successful Etsy Crafts Business – Part II of the Panel Discussion | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

Leave a Reply

