Boutique Clothing Craft Series: Nana’s Embroidery

Welcome back to the Rock Bottom T-Shirts Boutique Clothing Craft Series.  Today marks our fifth installment of this series that recognizes the accomplishments of small businesses in the clothing craft industry.

In our last Boutique Clothing Crafts post we profiled Mrs. Gwen Davenport of Frills n’ Frogs.  Today we’re speaking with someone who’s just started her boutique clothing business- Ms. Annie Jones of Nana’s Embroidery.

Nanas Embroidery

Nana's Embroidery


Background Information

  • Founder Name(s):  Annie Jones
  • Business Name: Nana’s Embroidery
  • Years in Business:  first year
  • Products Description: Customized embroidered items
  • Website URL(s):  http://www.etsy.com/shop/NanasEmbroidery
  • Contact Information:  amj1115@yahoo.com

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1.  What inspired you to start an online clothing boutique?

I have always been interested in creating unique clothes for my daughters.  Then life got busy, they grew up and I stopped making clothes for them.  Then this year a wonderful thing happened…I’ve had the wonderful experience of being a new grandmother when my first grandchild was born.

With his birth my desire to create wonderful and unique items came back.  My family and friends kept saying that I could sell my items, so I decided to start my business.  Right now my boutique is just getting started as I continue to work my full time job.

I hope to be able to one day retire from my full time job and have my embroidery business become my primary income earner.

2.  How did you get started?

I am still getting started.  I have been to lots of classes to help me get started…Everything from embroidery classes to business classes.

I have been doing lots of research-from where to get my blanks to how I should price my items.  Rock Bottom T-Shirts was a wonderful find.

3.  Are there any milestone moments that you’d like to share with us?

So far the biggest is just getting started.  I talked about doing it for months until my daughters finally said to put up or shut up.

I had always told them when they were growing up; that they could accomplish anything that they put their minds to….I had to take my own advice and step out and start setting up my embroidery business.

4.  How long does it take, on average, for you to complete a typical project?

From picking the design, deciding on the colors and shirt to having a finished embroidered item is around 2 hours.

5.  Where do you find the inspiration to come up with these embellishments?

From lots of places…I may make one or more onesie [sic] gifts based on something that is meaningful for the gift giver.   It may be based on a special occasion or just a fun saying that I’ve heard, read, or used.  Sometimes I may be told what to do and I follow my customer’s direction.

6.  What would you say is the biggest challenge facing boutique clothing craft businesses?

There are so many different directions that you can go into in the craft business that it is sometimes overwhelming.  You need to decide what you’d like to do and go with that.  You can’t be everything to everyone.

7.  Is there any advice that you’d like to share with someone who may be considering starting one

Decide if this is what you want to do and take the first steps.  You don’t have to jump in feet first, but you do have to take steps to make it happen.  I try to remind myself that the thing that’s worse than trying and failing is not trying at all.

Thank you for checking out the fourth installment of our Boutique Clothing Craft Series.  If you know of someone that you think we should feature in this series please let us know by mentioning it on our Facebook Fan Page.

4 Comments

Filed under Boutique Clothing Craft Series, Crafts/Projects

4 responses to “Boutique Clothing Craft Series: Nana’s Embroidery

  1. carol fiorella

    Very good advice thank you. I do childrens clothing and am selling out of a local boutique., but do you think a website would give me more coverage. I love to look throu etsy and face book for insperation. I retired 1 yr ago and love having more time to create. Aweb site like etsy is great, but a little scarry I have had people tell me you can easily geet swamped

    • Hi Carol,

      Thank you so much for dropping by and posting a comment. I think it’s great that you’ve already started selling your children’s clothing at a local boutique. Yes, absolutely-posting your products on websites like Etsy would not only expose you to more potential customers. But they could also help you reach potential prospects in other cities, states, and even countries.

      Another great thing about posting your creations to Etsy is that since Etsy already gets tons of website traffic, everyday, you get to piggy back off of their traffic and get people viewing your products without you having to spend a big budget to do it! As far as getting swamped, that’s definitely something to consider. maybe a good way to get around that would be to build up an inventory of pre-made items, like bows, that people wouldn’t mind purchasing “as is” (without customization). Then all you’d have to do after getting the order is to ship the products.

      I hope this helps and good luck with your business!

  2. Pingback: Boutique Clothing Craft Series: Layne James Embroidery and Design | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

  3. Pingback: Three Common Threads Amongst Boutique Clothing Craft Business Owners | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

Leave a Reply

