Boutique Clothing Craft Series: Not Your Everyday Diaper Cake

Hi!  We’re pleased to bring you a brand new installment of the Rock Bottom T-Shirts Boutique Clothing Craft Series; where we recognize the accomplishments of small businesses in the clothing craft industry.

Not Your Everyday Diaper Cake

Not Your Everyday Diaper Cake

In our last Boutique Clothing Craft Series installment we profiled Mrs. Linda Kerr of Kids Fashions by Linda.  Today we’re profiling Krissy Helvy of Not Your Every Day Diaper Cake.

Background Information

  • Founder Name(s):   Krissy Helvy
  • Years in Business:  2
  • Products Description:  Custom diaper cakes, bibs, onesies, burp rags, nursing covers, blankets, crayon rolls, carseat canopies, tutus, hair clips, and MUCH MORE!!
  • Website URL(s):    www.facebook.com/notyoureverydaydiapercake
  • Contact Information:   krissyvehrs@hotmail.com

                                                

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Not Your Everyday Diaper Cake’s Krissy Helvy Speaks with Rock Bottom T-Shirts

Questions

 1.  What inspired you to start an online clothing boutique?

I began sewing when I was in my teens then dropped it off while I went to college and started a family.  I had began doing small crafts here and there and really noticed that I LIKED my new hobby of making things for others and seeing their enjoyment out of getting it!  It all began when a friend or family member would tell me about an item they were hoping to get and asked me if I could make it for them first.  I would tell them, “Sure, I will give it a shot”.  From there, I realized all the great items that can be shared with others….many of which I only WISHED I had when my son was an infant.

2.  How did you get started?

I started by getting a Facebook page and selling to just friends and family or giving my items away as gifts.  From there, I slowly expanded my customer base out to others and word of mouth.  Now I have over 2,200 fans on my page and growing!

3.  Are there any milestone moments that you’d like to share with us?

When I started doing my first orders to strangers!  I remember thinking to myself ‘wow, people want to BUY my stuff…And from there it has just gone uphill tremendously!  

4.  How long does it take, on average, for you to complete a typical project?

Depending on the size of the order and how busy I am with life and other orders at the time it can vary slightly.  I usually tell the customer to give me a week or so to work on it, but often times, I can get an order made and shipped out within a few days as long as I am not booked up.  I pride myself on giving fast and friendly service!

5.  Where do you find the inspiration to come up with these embellishments?

Many of the designs I have come up with on my own, and some are creations from the customers themselves.  I try to never say no to a new challenge and always look forward to doing unique custom orders for my customers 🙂

6.  What would you say is the biggest challenge facing boutique clothing craft businesses?

I would say the biggest challenge is competition.  There are a lot of great boutique clothing and crafting businesses out there.  I myself am not a competitive person at all.  In fact, I often have shared other pages with my fans that I myself enjoy just so that others may also enjoy their great items too.  I try to keep my prices very low so that people will feel comfortable buying from me and want to come back.  I do not offer a lower quality item for the low price; just enjoy doing what I do, so I think of it more as a hobby that I can share with others. 

7.  I noticed that instead of you having your own online store website or an Etsy storefront that you use Facebook exclusively.  How did that come about, and how would you describe the process of operating a clothing boutique solely on Facebook?

I only do my sales via Facebook for two reason: 1.  I am not the handiest at creating my own website, nor do I want to pay the big bucks to have one made since I am just a small-time business gal. 2.  I tried Etsy once and there are a lot of great vendors on there, I didn’t like that I had to tie my Etsy account to my personal bank account to be “verified”.

I gave up on Etsy for those simple reasons, but MOSTLY because I do it in my free time (naptime at my house usually), so I don’t have a HUGE amount of time to make a LOT of orders.  I never want people to have to wait for a long time to get something from me, so I keep quiet as far as advertising and things go so I can keep up with orders and get them out in a quick fashion.

8.  Is there any advice that you’d like to share with someone who may be considering starting one?

I began small, it took a while to get a fan base started but once I did it just blossomed from there.  I would offer smaller items to freebie and giveaway sites which would let my fan base grow and help spread the word of my site.

Thank you for joining us today, and if you or someone you know is an entrepreneur in the clothing crafts industry please let us know!  We’d be happy to feature you or your friend in our next issue.  In the meantime, please like this post on our Fan Page if you enjoyed it or you may leave a comment below.

Enhanced by Zemanta

1 Comment

Filed under Boutique Clothing Craft Series, Clothing Craft Business Series, Crafts/Projects, Fashion

One response to “Boutique Clothing Craft Series: Not Your Everyday Diaper Cake

  1. Pingback: What We Learned from the Boutique Clothing Craft Series in 2011 | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

Leave a Reply

