Boutique Clothing Craft Series: GoodiesN2Shoes

We’ve got a brand new installment of our Boutique Clothing Craft Series; where we recognize the accomplishments of boutique clothing craft entrepreneurs.

GoodiesN2Shoes

GoodiesN2Shoes

In last month’s post we featured Krissy Helvy of Not Your Everyday Diaper Cake.  Today we bring you our latest installment where we talked with Michelle McIntier about her boutique clothing craft business – GoodiesN2Shoes.

Founder Name(s): Michelle McIntier

Years in Business: 1 1/2

Products Description: Anything baby Car seat covers, onesies[sic], covered wipe cases, bath puppets, baby shoes, binky clips

Website URL(s)http://www.etsy.com/shop/GoodiesN2Shoes

Contact Informationhttp://www.etsy.com/shop/GoodiesN2Shoes or GoodiesN2shoes@hotmail.com

Questions

  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 What inspired you to start an online clothing boutique? 

I found a little shoe pattern online and I had so much fun making them. The only problem was I made a bunch of cute girl shoes and I had a little boy. Soooo I started searching for a way to sell my shoes and my creativity expanded from there; that’s when I found Etsy!

How did you get started?

I just went to Etsy.com and jumped right in! It’s been so great!

Are there any “milestone moments” that you’d like to share with us?

I’ve had several, my first 50 sales was one.  Then 75, then 100 and now I’m hoping to hit 400 sales by Christmas! This Thanksgiving was a HUGE success for me! I made Turkey onesies[sic] and shirts and they sold like crazy! I could hardly keep up. I ended up selling over 215 Turkey’s! I made them from the Rock Bottom T-Shirts Rabbit Skins onesies[sic] and shirts in the brown color.

How long does it take, on average, for you to complete a typical project?

It usually takes about half an hour to 45 minutes.

Where do you find the inspiration to come up with these embellishments?

My children are definitely my inspiration. If I want them to have a cute outfit for the holidays or if I have something in mind that I’d like them to wear but I can’t find it elsewhere then I make it myself!

What would you say is the biggest challenge facing boutique clothing craft businesses?

The biggest challenge is probably getting started and staying on top of it all. It’s so hard just to get started sometimes but what you put into your business is what you get out of it! You just have to stay positive and push through the hard times and success usually follows!

Is there any advice that you’d like to share with someone who may be considering starting one?

Go for it! If you have a dream, go for it! Do it and come out on top by bringing your own unique designs and style with you. Too often you see 20 different versions of the same onesie[sic] and that can get frustrating when you’re looking for something different. So be unique!

Thank you for checking out today’s Boutique Clothing Craft Series post.  If you or anyone else that you know would like to be featured in this series please let us know by emailing us at blog@rockbottomt-shirts.com or you can mention it on our Facebook Fan Page.  Also, please feel free to use the ratings feature (using the stars beneath) to rate this post.

Leave a comment

Filed under Boutique Clothing Craft Series, Crafts/Projects

Leave a Reply

