How to Live Like a Mega Millions Winner – When You’re on a Budget

How to Like a Millionaire When You're on a Budget

How to Live Like a Millionaire When You're on a Budget

Believe it or not, living like a mega millions winner when you’re on a limited budget is probably a lot easier than you might think.

Living well, while spending less, is really about cutting the costs on your everyday spending so that you can have the luxury of choosing how to spend or invest your savings.

Trimming Your Grocery Bill

  • Buy Generic – You can save a substantial amount money, sometimes as much as 25% to 30%, just by buying store brand products.
  • Scan the Bottom Shelf – Grocery stores strategically place their higher priced items at eye level because they know that’s the first place you’d be likely to look. Just remembering to look at the bottom shelves, on every visit, can substantially reduce your shopping budget.
  • Use Coupons – With so many deal sites, mobile apps and other convenient savings resources it’s easier than ever to take advantage of coupons.

Cutting Gasoline Costs

  • Use Gas Websites – Comparing gas prices online or on your smart phone before fueling up is a great way to make sure that you always get the best fuel prices.
  • Tire Pressure – Having inadequate tire pressure can cause your vehicle to get less gas mileage per gallon. Making sure that your tires are properly inflated goes a long way towards helping you cut your gasoline costs.
  • Public Transportation – Public transportation offers a reliable way to make it to your destination at a fraction of the cost of what you’d spend on gasoline to go the same distance in your vehicle. If you live and work near a public transportation system this is one of the most practical ways to cut your fuel budget.

Affordable Entertainment

  • Library – Libraries offer a terrific way to save money on your entertainment costs because not only can you save money on your books there, but since most of them also offer DVD’s you can also save money on movies there.
  • Dine In – Find creative ways to make use of what’s already in your refrigerator. For example, you could re-cycle your savings by re-purposing your leftovers into a soup or a casserole.
  • Cut Cable – This decision is one of the harder decisions for consumers to make – especially if you love cable programming.  However, there are alternatives available that won’t drain your savings. Netflix’s $7.99 option, that let’s you stream popular TV shows and movies, is a perfect example.

Trendy Clothing on a Dime

  • Buy Gently Worn Clothing – Buying gently worn clothing can have the effect of instantly tripling or even quadrupling your clothing budget; all keeping your real budget the same!
  • Shop Out of Season Clothing – A great way to find clothes that are out of season is to shop the clearance aisle.
  • Visit Rock Bottom T-Shirts – for top quality clothing at rock bottom prices!

We hope that you enjoyed this post and would love to hear from you!  What are some of the things you’d recommend to anyone looking to live like a millionaire, on a budget?  Drop us a comment and let us know.  Thanks!

5 Comments

Filed under budget, Frugal, savings

5 responses to “How to Live Like a Mega Millions Winner – When You’re on a Budget

  1. This is so right on the money!!! It’s what I’ve been talking about since I started my fashion blog. How to look like a million bucks on a budget. It’s only been in the last four months that I’ve really and truly been living it even more so, and experiencing the outcome in a most positive and dynamic way. Not feeling like I’m living paycheck to paycheck is actually a nice feeling when I can look at my bank account and see a nice balance left over after paying the household bills, buying food, monthly bus passes and my daughter’s school expenses.

    Like for one instance. I drive my daughter to her bus stop in the morning, I then go home and park the car and ride public transportation to work. A monthly regular pass runs me $75, saving me $5 from having to get weekly passes. My daughter’s monthly pass is $24, so it saves on the cost of daily bus fair. During the weekend I may drive to two or three places or to my mother’s house with my daughter, other than that we ride public transportation to places like downtown Los Angeles and the malls, or we walk to close by retailers, getting in our exercise at the same time.

    I have noticed that I have literally cut my gas fuel expenses almost in half, which is a significant savings that I take and transfer over into my savings account. Now I can say I fill up maybe two to maybe three times a month because I drive so much less than before.

    My grocery bill has seen a tremendous cut and that’s because I look for everything on sale. I buy what we need and I buy a lot generic brands, which are basically the same as name brand (on certain items, though). I use coupons whenever possible, and stock up on those things that are essential to my family. For laundry soap, I don’t spend no more than $7.00 for about a 72 load at Smart & Final and that’s tends to last, and with a family of three, but it’s a popular brand so when they have it in stock I try to get two then I’m not running back and forth to the store.

    As far as cable is concerned, about two years ago I cut our cable bill from $215 down to about $155. It’s still higher than I’d like it to be, but when you factor in the internet, the DVR boxes, and one digital cable box on three TV’s, it’s doable for now until I can find away to reduce it even more.

    I tend to shop at boutiques like Lara’s Closet, Western Sizes, and some shops downtown because the prices are significantly lower than department stores. I buy my shoes online at http://www.amiclubwear.com, http://www.makemechic.com, http://www.pierresilber.com, http://www.urbanog.com, and http://www.snaz75.com because their prices are low and at http://www.amiclubwear.com they have weekly discounts on all their selections.

    JCPenny is a good department to shop at because they always have sales going on and they are significantly cheaper than Macy’s. Don’t get me wrong, I love Macy’s because I just bought a GUESS? top from their that cost me $59 and some change, but it’s not like I put off paying a bill to buy it. I don’t have to go through that hogwash any more. Praise the lord 🙂 for that.

    Another area I’ve been able to cut down is on my auto insurance. Cut that policy down to $78, and that’s on three cars, and in Los Angeles.
    So basically with all the savings I’ve been able to experience especially since going back to work, it’s been beneficial as well as a blessing in being able to run the house. Since my boyfriend’s heart attack in 2010, and his not being able to go back to work, the roles were reversed and I became the sole breadwinner of the family, so cutting costs, keeping costs down, watching the bottom line of every dollar I spend, and saving wherever possible in order to still enjoy living is highly important.

    I’ve been able to save some money, get mine and my daughter’s hair done regularly at $120 per trip down from nearly $155, and have some cash left over to do a little shopping without worrying about the money I spent later on and having that long dragging guilt I would usually end up carrying until the money was replaced. It’s a breath of fresh air.

    So I said that to say this, I am so glad you wrote this post. It just solidifies what I’ve been screaming all this time and what I’ve been trying to convey. I hope a lot of people read this and realize that they can live like a millionaire and be on a budget. Hey, people think I’m wealthy, but I’m not. I just learned valuable lessons in budgeting wisely in order to have something for myself and my daughter and my household.

    Live. Love. Be happy.

  2. Hi Rene’! Wow, you hit the nail on the head!

    Once, we as consumers, really begin to put these practices into place it really is possible to stretch your earnings so much that to the outsider looking in they’d think you were wealthy.

    And you’re right public transportation is good thing but monthly passes make it even better. I’m so sorry to hear about your boyfriend’s heart attack too, that couldn’t have been easy on you. I really hope that he makes a full recovery.

    Also, it seems like you have a lot to say about this topic. Do you think you might be interested in publishing a guest post here about how you save money?

    There’s no pressure, just thought I’d ask because you seem to like this subject so much. Thanks for stopping by, Rene’!

  3. Pingback: Frugal Versus Cheap – What’s the Difference? | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

  4. Pingback: Fifteen Ways to Cut Entertainment Costs Without Missing Out on Fun | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

  5. Pingback: Four Types of Free Budgeting Tools That Can Save You Money | Rock Bottom T-Shirts Blog

Leave a Reply

